Trekking in Suburbia

June 7, 2006

I figured out how to post in Type-pad with my first Trek With Me post. I finished Jaywalker #1 in Trekking XXL colorway 100. The combination of the two is fabulous. The monitor really doesn’t do justice to the beautiful indigo blue and the vivid orange. There isn’t a bit of brown, but the picture looks that way, doesn’t it ? You’ll just have to knit some up for yourself and find out. You’ll be glad you did.

I am so happy with the finished product. Not bad for only the second sock I’ve ever knit! And it fits perfectly.

Kudos to Grumperina for making such an easy-to-follow pattern. Sock #2 is on the needles, and I hope it turns out as nicely.

I’m such a lame-o calling running errands Trekking, but in my world that is trekking. My plan is to walk or hike or trek this summer, which begins tomorrow at 10:20 a.m. In the words of the great philosopher Alice Cooper, “School’s Out for summer. School’s out for what feels like forever!” (Emphasis mine).

The sock fights with ABC over who sits up front with Mom. They agree to share.

The sock hangs out by the best stuff at Dunkin’ Donuts–the coffee–while Mom buys Munchkins for the fifth grade year-end party.

Then the sock helps us drop off the Munchkins at school (no photo)

The sock watches ABC pass her ice-skating test (forgot to photograph).

Then the sock helps pick up a pizza for dinner.

Then the sock unwinds poolside after a very busy day of Trekking all over town while Jack and Al enjoy having the pool all to themselves.

Nods to the Yarn Harlot for her ubiquitous anthropomorphic sock.

Knitting update

June 7, 2006

Knitting posts have been very lean, sorry. I’m posting a Jaywalker update later today!

Well check out Pimp That Snack. The site used to be called Pimp My Snack, but apparently Viacom is the only one allowed to pimp their own stuff (i.e. “Pimp MY stuff”). Everyone else has to pimp generic stuff (Pimp that, pimp those, pimp this).

I digress.

I have been known to make a Quadruple Stuff or bigger in my day, so I’m checking this site out for new ideas. A lot cheaper than Pimpin’ a Ride, no?

114969333369411780

June 7, 2006

Evolution of Dance

I laughed so hard I have a headache.

I tried to audioblog this, but the quality was reminiscent of carrying around a little cassette recorder trying to record the radio. Good for a laugh, but not good enough to post.

Without further ado: today’s random blue song is:

The Blue Danube. Can you remember the composer’s name?

MiracleMichael.org

June 7, 2006

Visit this website to learn more about Osteogenesis Imperfecta. You may have heard it called Brittle Bone Disease.

Jack’s wonderful football coach and his equally wonderful wife are the parents of Miracle Michael. Their story is heartwrenching, and their dedication to finding a cure is inspiring.

this is an audio post - click to play

A bonus song:

Suite Madam Blue

Name that group!