High school English meme

July 29, 2007

I’m supposed to be doing financials for the lawyer. I think I’d rather scrub grout. I’ll get it done, even if it means staying up late. Right now, though, I’m having one of those weeks when everything seems to go wrong, and I can’t get my head around being organized. Some examples: lost driver’s license, lost in the mail credit card, broken TV remote, camera memory card that won’t load, lost cord, forgotten cell phone charger.

Get the picture? Nothing tragic, but all brain draining. And there’s not much left to drain at this point. I have to give a talk in a couple of weeks at a Support and Recovery meeting, and truthfully, I keep hitting the wall when I think about what I’m going to say. Not that I can’t be honest (or is that the problem?), but I can’t seem to get down to the essence.

I read this post on internetmonk.com, and I’m processing the whole ‘being honest about self’ and how that fits with ministry. A bit of an aside, but I think it might be part of what I’m struggling with. My New England sense of privacy and that oldest child perfectionism.

Back to the avoiding the work I have to do. Our church meets in a high school, and I went to pick up my daughter from her class (they used to call it Sunday School, now it has some other fancy name). On the door was posted this assignment for some high school English class (or whatever they are calling that nowadays, says the old fogey). I loved it, copied it down and saved it for a future day. That day is today. Here goes:

5 things that make you angry

1. Having to repeat myself a million times.

2. Bad drivers.

3. Injustice.

4. Lies.

5. Arrogance.

6 Things that Make You Feel Awe

1. the ocean

2. the night sky

3. a prairie sunrise/sunset

4. a beautifully executed piece of art–poetry, jewelry, sculpture, whatever

5. unexpected kindness

6. God’s grace

5 Everyday Things

1. a good cup of coffee

2. my kids giggling together

3. scratching my cat or dog’s ears

4. an email from a friend

5. stretching when I wake up

List poem

Now turn those lists (or any list) into a poem.

I hate:

repetition, repeating, redundance

drivers

meanies

liars

and braggarts

But

I love:

the ocean

the prairies

stars

giggles and kisses

being alive

and

God.

Now, consider yourself tagged and do a high school meme instead of cleaning the toilets. Your family might not, but you’ll thank me for it.

One Response to “High school English meme”

  1. mrspao Says:

    Great meme 🙂 Your poem is brilliant!

Leave a Reply

