Bargain shopping spree

April 5, 2007

I started to tell you a couple of weeks back about my St. Paddy’s day adventures, but I didn’t want to bore you with the Kiwanis Pancake Breakfast, the raffle, summer clothes shopping, a nap, oversleeping for church, my phone going off during a message about (gasp!) sex, heading for an Irish Catholic St. Paddy’s day dinner and dance with a friend and running out of gas, corn beef and cabbage, another raffle, blah blah blah.

I won a basket at the Kiwanis Raffle. It was filled with many things I’m thankful for and one of them was a $40 gift certificate to a store called Le Chocolat Bar (and I’m not making this up that there is an accent aigu over the second o on the sign–cringe). I went in, knowing I could spend $40 on chocolate in a heartbeat. Even better, though, the saleslady told me that I could also use the gift certificate at the owner’s other shop Perfect Details which has, to my great pleasure, Mary Frances bags. Some are shockingly garish, some are lovely. I went to the shop with every intention of buying a Mary Frances bag, but none struck my fancy this time (I already own one). Instead, I hit the sale room and found a bunch of handbags on clearance.

Here you see my haul. The large lime (?) colored bag was $65, but I got it for $20 because the owner tried to clean off some sticker residue and took the color off.

Can you even tell? Lime-colored Sharpie, where art thou? It will make a great knitting tote. The blue bag has the cutest magnet closure ever,

and it was $10 because the handle needs to be resewn (not sure of original price, but I love the color). The saleslady says her shoe repair guy will fix it for five bucks. Sold. The kitty bag was $15 as is, (from $45) but I can’t see anything wrong with it.

And the multi-colored bag has a couple of spots on it, so it was $10 (from $35). It’ll have spots on it from me anyway as soon as I spill a Starbucks on it, so why not get it cheaper and pre-spotted? Makes me no anyhow, as my Mennonite friends would say. So I used my gift certificate and only had to pay $18. 71. Not bad for four handbags, n’est-ce pas?

Oh, and yuck at how dirty my windows are. Guess I skipped that part of spring cleaning. I’ll make that a frog to eat for this week.

3 Responses to “Bargain shopping spree”


  1. Wow, these are awesome finds. The lime one, especially.

  2. Rain Says:

    Wow…certainly was a bargain…!

  3. Roberto Iza Says:

    Before you touch your windows, consider having
    a professional wash them for you.

Leave a Reply

