My own personal mid-life crisis (and how I solved it).

March 26, 2007

The surest cure for a crazy idea is to ask your friends’ opinions.

My latest crazed thought it that it is jolly well time for me to get my nose pierced.   I did my homework; there shall be no adolescent self-piercings.  Nothing but the best for this old gal trying to look young.

So I asked my wise and also slightly crazed friend D for her advice.  Here’s what she said:

Subject: Re: my mid-life crisis

Oh my … another mid-life crisis to deal with …

That’s what’s so great about being over 50 – you’re officially out of the “mid-life crisis” stage, and are now just old.  And boring, and conservative and taking risks is just not worth the bother – after all, risks disturb our little worlds.  We are just too busy dealing with pending arthritis, forgetfulness, fading eyesight, hearing loss, etc. etc.  It’s getting harder and harder to keep the gray covered.  Clothing and shoes are now chosen for comfort rather than style.  And our jewelry is now limited to easy-on/easy off stuff.  We don’t want to dig around inside our nostrils to change our looks.  That might mess up our sinuses somehow, and you know that sinuses can cause all sorts of medical problems.  As if we didn’t have enough medical issues to deal with …

But you, my dear, are not old yet.  And a mid-life crisis could be a lot worse than a nose piercing, and it’s cheaper than a red sports car like all the stupid men get, so I say GO FOR IT !!!  (Maybe *** [edited to spare myself embarrassment] likes a little nose jewelry!)  To inspire you, here are some looks you might want to consider:
    Simple, yet tasteful          a bit more fashion forward

the popular layered look   for those “ethnic” dress days

  playful and youthful            extravagant – for
occasions calling for something special

the “country”girl look

Now, you may be re-thinking the whole nose piercing thing at this point, so let me offer an alternative suggestion:

the corset piercing look             Yes, this is real piercing, lovely, isn’t it?

Before you do anything, Lorinda, you need to consider the effects of your actions on your family members, especially family members of a different generation, who might not be able to appreciate your body art.  A good reference before your next trip to see the parents:

Now available at www.amazon.com.

I swear, you certainly have livened up my Sunday afternoon web surfing!  And to think I was just sitting here laughing over comments about Heather Mills’ artificial leg!

I anxiously await your response, and hope I’ve been helpful to you in making the pierce/no pierce decision.

Care to weigh in?  And actually, my parents would probably be okay with it.  They usually take my antics with a grain of salt.  Probably why they’re still kickin’ around.

 

16 Responses to “My own personal mid-life crisis (and how I solved it).”

  1. Kathleen Says:

    I don’t know who your employer is or what the workplace rules are… but you might want to consider that as well. There are places that will not let you wear certain types of pierced looks – not part of their dress code.

    Takes me a while to get used to people with ‘other than earlobe’ piercings and some are always distracting – like various versions of the piercings your friend sent, or tongue piercings with huge ‘earrings’ on waittresses.

    Good luck on deciding and may it be an easy-peasy process if you go for it.

  2. Amy Says:

    well, there’s always the ambiance and attitude when you go for the piercing. A friend of mine, upon turning 40, decided she wanted to get her navel pierced. The 20-something piercer was a chatty, friendly thing, who couldn’t stop raving about how much easier it was to pierce my friend’s navel, given that she was older and “softer” (read: flabbier) than the usual toned teens and 20-somethings she normally dealt with. Naturally, my friend did not feel so young and perky at the end of the piercing.

  3. Amy Says:

    Go for it! I hear the septum piercing can be quite painful, so if the pain is at all a factor, I can personally attest to the fact that a nostril piercing made me go, “that’s it?”

    A word of advice: I have had my nose (nostril) pierced for a while now, and if you do a nose screw (instead of a ring or a stud), definitely get something smooth and rounded on the end. My first screw was a little five-pointed star, and those points would get stuck on things (blankets and such)… and painfully pull the thing right out of my nose! I hadn’t anticipated this, and it could really hurt.

    The heal time on cartilage is also quite long compared to other types of piercings, so keep in mind that you shouldn’t go swimming during the few months when it’s fresh to avoid infection. If you enjoy swimming during the summer, get it done soon so it’s healed in time for prime pool season!

  4. cecily Says:

    I have a friend who has that corset piercing thing and it scares me to DEATH…but if you feel like getting your nose pierced, I say do it! 😉 This coming from a 23yr old with a tattoo and a healing belly button piercing…

  5. Lynne Says:

    Well, Lorinda…the only opinion I have is that this is one of the funniest posts I have read this week! I’m still chuckling. I’ve always been afraid of the tattoo/piercing thing…just because of the potential for sagging the older we get…it could get scary looking!

  6. Ellen Says:

    Here’s what I think: get a tattoo. Here’s why: it’s really fun to get a tattoo, it gives you a great story for later, AND you can have it conveniently placed in a spot where you can either choose to reveal it or keep it hidden.

    Unlike your nose, which everyone sees all the time.

    I think the tattoo will get you where you want to go mid-life-crisis-wise, but without…you know…being on your face. I got my tattoo when I was 25; we can think of it as a quarter-life crisis, I guess. I still love it, but if I wear sleeves (it’s on my right upper arm), no one knows its there.

    That’s my two-cents. Naturally, take it or leave it.

    Loved the post, either way!

  7. Diane Says:

    No opinion but coffee almost came out of my nose looking at all the pictures in this posting.

  8. Ruth Says:

    I always wondered about the….uh…..hygenic side of things. It’s hard enough to keep your nose clean when it’s smooth! And they really take a long time to completely heal.

  9. Nicole Says:

    No advice from me – but those photos are hilarious!

  10. Lynne Says:

    Hi Lorinda! Me again..I’m at work and I don’t have your email…can you email me ASAP?
    Thanks, dear!

  11. Robin Says:

    I like the really small nostril piercings, like a little diamond chip or something. I say to go for it! Will it close up if you don’t like it and don’t wear the post? If so, why not – much less permanent than a tattoo.

  12. Shelley Says:

    Sorry, but I really don’t think its pretty. Got a laugh from your pics. I always have boogers, I could never get my nose pierced!


  13. Heheh! I thought about piercing my nose in my teens, but bought a fake one to try out first. I decided I didn’t like how it looked on me, so the idea went bye bye. Tattoos are great, though! 🙂

  14. Tammany Says:

    DO IT!!!! Oh my gosh you would look so cute with just a little, simple ring! (And I have always wanted to get mine done, but stupid opera career won’t let me.) Go for it!

  15. Nicole Says:

    Go for it. I’m going to maybe do that after I get past this stage in my professional development where I’m constantly being interviewed.

  16. Jason Says:

    Good heavens woman! What are you thinking? I don’t read your blog for a few weeks and you go and pull a stunt like this.

    Mom and Dad might be ok with it? If that’s true, it’s a darn good thing you’re brother is around to keep you out of trouble.

    Please — for the sake of your family (myself included) don’t wear one of those goofy looking rings in your nose. It’s bad (BAD!!!!) enough when 20-somethings do that to themselves. It’s horrifying when 40-somethings do it.

    If you must do this, just get a small diamond stud.

    If you go for something more obvious than that, I’ll wait 4 or 5 years to get a red Corvette convertible. Then I’ll start wearing gold chains with my shirt undone half way when I come to vist you. (I still have hair, so the comb over threat won’t work, but I think you get the idea).

Leave a Reply

