The soundtrack of my life

March 7, 2007

Sure to be a scary and slightly cheesy one.  Here goes:

Life Soundtrack
IF YOUR LIFE WAS A MOVIE, WHAT WOULD THE SOUNDTRACK BE?
So, here’s how it works:

1. Open your library (iTunes, Winamp, Media Player, iPod, etc)
2. Put it on shuffle
3. Press play
4. For every question, type the song that’s playing
5. When you go to a new question, press the next button
6. Don’t lie
Shout out to Adele for the meme.  Not sure why she chose two for each section, so I did too.

Opening Credits:
a) I Need Thee Every Hour–Jars of Clay

b) The Nurse Who Loved Me–Perfect Circle (would that be my mom?  she’s a nurse)

Waking Up

a) Turning–Les Miserables Broadway Cast (I usually am la miserable waking up)

b) Come Back, Baby–The Ramones

First day at High School:
a) Symphonic Dance–Phil Keaggy

b) Embraceable You–Ella Fitzgerald (my first day of high school–NOT!)

Falling in Love:
a) The Valley–Jars of Clay (valleys of sorrow–sounds about right)

b) Nel Cor Piu  Non Mi Sento–Cecilia Bartoli (something about being destroyed in Italian–yep, that fits)

Fight Song:
a) Oh, Darling–The Beatles
b) Spanish Caravan–The Doors

Breaking Up:
a) You Knit Me Together–Steve Green (from my kids’ CD)

b) Nothing Special–Duncan Sheik

Prom:
a) That Lucky Old Sun–Louis Armstrong

b) Deck the Halls–David Huntsinger

Life:
a) Faith, Hope and Love–Mark Schultz

b) Walking with a Ghost–Tegan & Sara


Mental Breakdown:
a) So Far Away–Dire Straits (nope, that mental breakdown is just around the corner)

b) Yellow Submarine–The Beatles

Driving:
a) Suite No 5 in C minor–Janos Starker (NOT! way too mellow for my driving)

b) Bring Your Kingdom–Worship Songs of the Vineyard (the irony is great–does this mean that I’m going to die or the people that annoy me will?)

Flashback:
a) The Lord’s Prayer–The Cambridge Singers
b) Angel Child–Samite  (ha ha ha!  cool song, though)

Getting Back Together:
a) Blue Skies–Eva Cassidy
b) Nothing at All–Third Day (yep, nothing at all)

Wedding:
a) Eine Kleine Nachtmusik–Mozart
b) We Praise Your Name–Matt Shepardson

Birth of Child:
a) Naive–Chris Rice (oh yeah, I was)
b) There’s No Business Like Show Business/They Say It’s Wonderful–Annie Get Your Gun 

Final Battle:
a) Voyage Around the Moon–Saturn 5

b) Take Me to the River–Eva Cassidy (would that be the Jordan River?)

Death Scene:
a) Worms–The Pogues (perfect! you know the one–the worms crawl in . . .)
b) Carol of the Bells–Mannheim Steamroller

Funeral Song:
a) Ada Plays–Gabriel Yared (nice song!)
b) Shield of Faith–Alison Kraus & Union Stations

End Credits:
a) True Life Blues–Hazel Dickens & Alice Gerrard (I guess I’ll go out pickin’ and a’grinnin’)

b) Honor & Glory–Songs of the Vineyard

I did NOT cheat, but I think it’s ironic that of the 6356 songs on my iTunes, most of the ones that came up on a random shuffle were inspirational.  A reminder to behave myself even when ‘meme-ing’?  Hmmmmm.

3 Responses to “The soundtrack of my life”

  1. goingape Says:

    I did this over at my blog. 🙂 Fun one!

  2. goingape Says:

    Don’t know why it goes to my blog over there…I use http://goingape.blogspot.com

  3. Roberto Iza Valdez Says:

    Delightful!

Leave a Reply

