From the Bluey archives

January 22, 2007

Hi friends–

There is knitting going on chez Blue (pictures to come), and some living and also some reflecting.  I know it’s almost February, but I’m pondering the whole New Year’s Resolution thing.  Being an introvert (as well as a procrastinator), I’m not so prone to share (or maybe a perfectionist–it’s better to never commit than to fail).

Anyway, I was re-reading some of my old blog postings, and I thought this was fitting for a new year as I continue the search for the essential moi.  Of course, add knitting with a capital K into the current mix too.

Purpose

May 27th, 2005 · 

Some people are born knowing their purpose in life. It is an plain as the nose on their face. They forge through life filled with the surety of who they are and what they are to do. Not so for all of us. We may be passing fair at some or many things but nothing seems to jump out. Somehow I don’t think my calling in life is to watch movies or read books or eat potato chips–much as I wish it were.

As I ponder my purpose in life, I know that God made me and He made me me. I have certain gifts. Even though clarity seems to elude me as to what they are and doubt comes because there are always people better at things than I, I’m meant to know them and then use them. It seems logical they are gifts tied in to what I like and find meaningful. Maybe I’m created to be the best widget maker I can be. Maybe not, since I don’t even know what a widget is.

I heard a speaker yesterday on Christian radio, and his message touched the place in my heart longing for a sense of belonging and knowing. He said that every job we are called to do is from God. And now pops into my head that old familiar saying, “There is no difference between the secular and the sacred. All ground is holy ground. Every bush is a burning bush.” There is intellectual assent to that, but we grade people’s jobs and lives just as we grade our sins. A pastor has a holier job than a widget maker, your sin is worse than mine, etc.

All that to say this. Maybe right now I am called to be a mother. Or a wanderer. Or a writer. Whatever it is, for however long the season may be, I want to know it’s God’s calling for me, not just mine. I don’t need to feel guilty because I’m not living up to some societal or ecclesiastical standard of what I’m supposed to be. My purpose lies somewhere in my life, and I must seek it as I would buried treasure. I have a feeling that when I find it I’ll say, “I knew it all along!” Until then I shall remain on the lookout–in every book and movie and potato chip and everywhere else–for the me I’m supposed to be.

5 Responses to “From the Bluey archives”

  1. Diane Says:

    I’d love to know exactly what God’s game plan for my life is. But I’ve come to realize that life doesn’t work that way. I don’t think you have to seek out your life’s purpose; I think a situation comes up and in that moment it just comes to you. THIS IS WHAT I NEED TO DO.

    It might be something simple like letting someone out into traffic ahead of you. It could be something hard like speaking up to the adult at the grocery store who is hitting their child.

    Everyone isn’t here to win a Nobel Prize.

  2. lorinda Says:

    Thanks for those words of encouragement, Diane. It involves being tuned in and ready to act, even though we aren’t sure when it may come or what it may be, doesn’t it?

  3. wendy Says:

    What you’re speaking about is what the Quakers call discernment. Here is a site that might help, http://www.quakerjane.com/spirit.friends/spirituality-discernment.html
    May the light in you guide your feet.

  4. mrspao Says:

    I’m feeling a little off track at the moment. I think that just seeking God in all we do is the best thing!

  5. Janus Says:

    I went from a gardener to a person in charge of people’s lives. No matter what you do, do it well and do it for God, and you will see it move mountains

Leave a Reply

