We got your winners right here.

December 20, 2006

Okay, it’s 8:30 in the morning, and I’m drinking Diet Coke because the coffee pot is buried under WAY too many dirty dishes, and I just can’t wash them or even move them to get to the carafe. Is there a 12-step program for what I have? Ennui? Laziness? Workaphobia?

But you don’t want to know about that–you want to know who gets yarn! I don’t blame you. So did I.

Without further ado (because you know me, I’m all about the ado).ย  I drew names and the following folks are the lucky winners of the Holiday Traditions and Memories contest (read aloud in Don Pardo voice)!

anemotis (aka Courtney): the lovely and only a little bit scary subduer of wax Santas and mommy-in-waiting!

Kathleen: second time winner!

and because Kathleen is a two-time winner, I’ll add another winner just for fun:

Lisa

Woohoo! Okay Lisa, email me with your snail mail address. You other two, I gotcha. Putting yours in the mail this a.m, so I’d better run.

But a huge thank you to everyone who shared. I think this was my favorite contest ever because you shared from your heart–funny, poignant, and beautiful–all (well, the melted Santas are a little dubious–I’m not going to let you live this down, Courtney ๐Ÿ˜‰

Now for another fun holiday thing–what’s your favorite holiday movie?ย ย  I’ll have some alone time this holiday (yeah, sounds pathetic, I know), so any recommendations for good movies? Which ones do you watch year after year?ย  How about new favorites?ย  My kids and I love Elf with Will Ferrel.ย  We watch it all year ’round.ย  Dish, girls and boys.

And favorite holiday songs?ย  You gotta love Adam Sandler’s Hanukkah song (thanks for the reminder, Kay, btw, I want a jelly donut injector).ย  What else?ย  I’m listening to Nat King Cole singing The Christmas Song as we speak.

I can’t believe it’s December 20th already.ย  I’m feeling betimes grinchy andย  Tiny Timmish, but having you my bloggy friends is one of the things that makes me say, “God Bless us, everyone.”

Now, who’s turn is it to carve the roast beast?

21 Responses to “We got your winners right here.”

  1. Amy Says:

    So many favorite songs & movies…what to include…

    Movies – We always watch “It’s a Wonderful Life” on Christmas Eve; Mame; Love Actually

    Songs – The Muppets/John Denver Christmas album is a fave; Michael W. Smith Christmas; Peter, Paul & Mary Holiday album/PBS special; New fave this year “Little Drummer Boy” by Pink Martini (my fave band ever) on the Starbucks holiday album

    On & on…

  2. Amy Says:

    I have to concur with the other Amy about the muppets and John Denver! I have been listening to that record since my entire life, and it still makes me smile. Jimmy Fallon also did a “snowball fight” song that is sort of amusing.

    Movies? For the most part, don’t like holiday movies. Unless Love Actually does count.

  3. Kenny Says:

    I missed out!!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

  4. 1blacksheep Says:

    I love Elf! But I think my favorite has to be The Muppet Christmas Carol. Music??? I really like BeeBee Winans (Starbucks a couple years ago) and my new best favorite is James Taylor. Gotta love Sweet Baby James ๐Ÿ™‚

  5. 1blacksheep Says:

    (oops—I forgot—Charlie Brown Christmas CD. It calms frazzled nerves like no other, with warm fuzzy memories of childhood and Christmas specials).

  6. kristi and otis Says:

    A Christmas Story – a must see every Christmas!

  7. Kathleen Says:

    Yay! I’m a weiner! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Favorite Movie, to be watched during the baking of Nestle’s Toll House Cookies, White Christmas. I also really like Christmas in Connecticut. And Mr. Magoo’s Christmas Carol. The first one mentioned, I can watch whenever I want – I own it on various video formats… the other two I have to find them on TV and I don’t get to see them every year.

    We have two NOW Christmas CDs. They have a great variety of old and new classics! ๐Ÿ™‚ I don’t have any total favorites and I find new things I like every year. I do like Christmas in Sarajevo and my Bobby Vinton collection! ๐Ÿ˜‰

  8. Anne Says:

    Movie? I like watching “classics” on Christmas Eve: It’s a Wonderful Life, Miracle on 34th St, and even Casablanca (despite its not being a Christmas movie). I’d like to have the Tim Allen “Santa Clause” movie(s) but haven’t added them to our library yet. I like some of the Christmas Carol Movies—Patrick Stewart did a mean Scrooge in one of them.

    Music? Hmm… Gayla Peevey’s
    “I want a Hippopatamus for Christmas”
    is a household favorite.

    My favorite song is “O Holy Night”. I haven’t yet found a rendition that can top my memory of Desiree when she was on “Days of Our Lives”. I forget how it happened now, but her character stood on a corner and sang the most amazing a capella version of “O Holy Night” I’ve ever heard. Other favorites: Beach Boys, Elvis, Jewel.

    Anne.

  9. Becky Says:

    The only movie I absolutely must watch each holiday season is Michael, with John Travolta. I’m not a big fan of watching movies (or reading books) over again, but this one near grows old for me. It has some personal significance, but it is also just plain funny and romantic and very seasonal.

  10. mrspao Says:

    I think it has to be The Wizard of Oz – it is on in the UK every Christmas and connects me with my childhood and the wonder of the season.

    Christmas with the Kranks is more like the a documentary for the paousehould..

  11. Laura Says:

    White Christmas! Along with The Santa Clause, about 5 times a year! We also have an old tape of christmas cartoons (Charlie Brown, Garfield, Claymation Rudolph, Frosty, etc) my grandpa taped off of tv about fifteen years ago that we always watch. Even the commercials are hilarious!

    My favorite christmas cd is the Carpenter’s Christmas CD. My favorite carols are O Holy Night and O Little Town of Bethlehem.

  12. Sarah R Says:

    Favorite Christmas movie: I think it may be The Ref. Though if I were feeling sentimental, I might say The Muppets Christmas Carol.

    Favorite Christmas CD: Charlie Brown Christmas is good. But I have two CDs of Christmas music payed on unusual and archaic instruments that I love.

  13. Ellen Says:

    Movies: definitely the hilarious “A Christmas Story,” and then of course, “It’s a Wonderful Life.” I always try to fit in that version of “A Christmas Carol” with George C. Scott that I recorded onto a VHS tape off of public television years ago…

    Anyway, Merry Christmas, Lorinda, and, well, may God bless us, every one!

  14. Janus Says:

    Scrooged with Bill Murray, and The Ref. I like my holiday cheer with just a dash of hostility


  15. My all time fav is A Christmas Memory, which was written by Truman Capote. It is such a beautiful film. And, the story itself is so precious. I love it.


  16. My favorites have already been mentioned, The Muppets version of A Christmas Carol, and A Christmas Story… I also like The Polar Express.

    Congratulations to the winners! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Merry Christmas Lorinda!!

  17. cecily Says:

    i watch a charlie brown christmas EVERY YEAR…it’s what makes me feel christmas is here, other than going to church, obviously.

    i hope you have a wonderful christmas eve and christmas day and that you’re doing well. and maybe that i hear from you soon? ๐Ÿ˜‰

  18. Kat with a K Says:

    My favorite holiday movies are White Christmas, Muppet Christmas Carol, Love Actually, and the Barishnykov (sp?) version of The Nutcracker.

  19. Dorothy B Says:

    My favourite movie is that classic It’s a Wonderful Life. Although I love all the old classics and when we were kids we always watched Anne of Green Gables and The Sound of Music on Christmas Day.

    Favourite songs are Oh Holy Night and What Child is This.

    Hope you had a good Christmas.

  20. heatherly Says:

    i love david crowder. he signed tirzah’s birthday card last year! he rocks! so go vote for him, and get everyone else to do the same. who wants inxs to win?!
    the blog:
    http://www.xanga.com/emprise34/559051444/hope-your-christmas-was-fantastic-but.html
    the voting place:

    http://music.msn.com/music/artistofthemonth

  21. Bonzairn Says:

    HAPPY NEW YEAR!!! Love catching up on your blog! Please email me – your address. I have a NEW YEAR card to send you! PLEASE!!!!

Leave a Reply

