WIP central

December 7, 2006

I’m sorry I haven’t blogged much lately. But I have the day off today (insert Doxology here), so I’m catching up on what I’ve neglected lately. One reason I’ve been notblogging rather than knitblogging is that I’ve been knitting like, well, like the Fates (I know, I know, they spun and measured and cut–but it involved yarn and scissors, I can count it). Here are a few pics of WIPs. Nothing to write home about, but they are keeping me from going to the mall and spending inordinate amounts of money on Christmas gifts. Call it self-control therapy.

Ripped from the knitting bag—

First toe-up sock EVAR, and I’m delighted that it looks like a sock monkey. For my dad. The yarn is a dream to knit with: the chocolate brown and cream are from the lovely Marion for the Chocolate Swap. It’s Bergere de France. I think I need more. The red is from an eBay purchase. It’s elann’s Peruvian Highland Chunky, affordable and oh-so-yummy.

Since we’re on a mythology kick here Chez Bluey, I’ll show you the yarn from Hades. I had to cross the River Styx to get it (i.e. the knitting needles). I have tried several different patterns to knit a scarf for a friend, and I hated all of them. The latest iteration, a moebius scarf, developed a strange error (how’s that for passing the buck?) and I had to frog it. I’m like Ulysses, the gods hate me. I’ll try again when the urge to snip it into tiny bits passes. The Fates reference was an appropriate one, then, wasn’t it?

Wildflowers scarf–renamed here Garden Salad–still beautiful, still unfinished. Love you Ellen!

And last but not least, the Tropicana sock–here renamed Lakes and Oceans. This is the second one, and I have turned the heel and am heading down the foot. If your name is Mom, act surprised when you see these in person. This time it won’t be hkme’s fault that secrets weren’t kept.

And can we talk? Just a minute ago, I heard a slurping sound and looked over to see my Yorkie drinking my coffee. Some things never change. When he was a puppy, he launched himself onto Gock’s lap, stuck his beak in the scalding hot coffee and then shot the spray all over everyone sitting there. Moral to the story, don’t let the coffee get too cold or it’s up for grabs. I guess I’ll go get another cup, and maybe a refill for the dog.

3 Responses to “WIP central”

  1. Lucia Says:

    I’m working on a project myself that was headed for the home stretch when I saw a mistake… tinked back, fixed, got on my merry way again, saw another one… veritably Sisyphean.

    If it’s any consolation, all your WIPs are beautiful. I love the blue sock especially. (Well, I would.) What toe-up method are you using?

  2. Ellen Says:

    Love your Garden Salad interpretation of my scarf! Looks absolutely great.

    My dog has, ahem, been know to lap up coffee herself. Believe me, it’s the LAST thing she needs…

  3. Diane Says:

    Love the tropicana sock. Great pattern with that color yarn; just seems to be made to go together.

    Coffee drinking dog? Think I’ll stick to cats because I’d hate to have to share my coffee with anyone. LOL

Leave a Reply

