Secret Pal 9 Questionnaire

October 3, 2006

1. What is/are your favorite yarn/s to knit with? What fibers do you absolutely *not* like?
Preferably natural fibers. I love soft but not fuzzy. I’m not a big fan of fun fur or acrylic. I don’t really like bulky yarn.

2. What do you use to store your needles/hooks in?

I have a holder for my straight needles (thanks, Cecily!), but the dpns and circulars are in a box in my dresser. Sad, I know.

3. How long have you been knitting & how did you learn? Would you consider your skill level to be beginner, intermediate or advanced?

I learned to knit when I was in college (maybe? I forget). Then way led unto way and I didn’t knit again for years until December of 2005 (about 15 years). I’m probably an intermediate knitter, but I’m willing to try anything–not always successfully.

4. Do you have an Amazon or other online wish list?

Yes, I have an Amazon list. I’ll figure out how to link it on WordPress.

5. What’s your favorite scent? (for candles, bath products, etc.)

Spicy-ish–pumpkin, apple, cinnamon, clove.

6. Do you have a sweet tooth? Favorite candy?

Is this a trick question? Of course! I love Heath bars, Skor Bars, any kind of dark chocolate, chocolate with pecans, white chocolate.
7. What other crafts or Do-It-Yourself things do you like to do? Do you spin?

Mostly I’m just into knitting now. I do not spin but hope to learn some day. And someday I’d like to take up crochet again.

8. What kind of music do you like? Can your computer/stereo play MP3s? (if your buddy wants to make you a CD)

I enjoy music, but truthfully I enjoy quiet more. Thanks, though.

9. What’s your favorite color(s)? Any colors you just can’t stand?

I love blues; autumny colors; jewel tones; greens; things that go with my red hair. I am not a teal fan, although it sometimes looks pretty with other colors.

10. What is your family situation? Do you have any pets?

I’m a forty-something single mom (separated) with two kids (a boy age 11, a girl age 9); I have a Yorkie and three cats.
11. Do you wear scarves, hats, mittens or ponchos?

Hats and scarves, yes. Mittens, not so much–usually gloves. Ponchos, not so much.

12. What is/are your favorite item/s to knit?

I love Moebius knitting and felting. I’ve started knitting socks and love it. I am trying to learn to knit lace. Next I guess will be cables. 😉

13. What are you knitting right now?

At this very moment I am not knitting. But on the needles, oh my, three prayer shawls, a poncho for my niece, a French market bag, a scarf, a felted bag and several socks.

14. Do you like to receive handmade gifts?

Yes I do.

15. Do you prefer straight or circular needles? Bamboo, aluminum, plastic?

Circulars, and usually aluminum, but I have to say those Lantern Moon rosewood and ebony circulars are sweet.

16. Do you own a yarn winder and/or swift?

Yes, both.

17. How old is your oldest UFO?

I ‘fessed up in a recent post. It’s 23 years old.

18. What is your favorite holiday?

I love Thanksgiving and Christmas and Easter and my birthday.

19. Is there anything that you collect?

Do dust bunnies count? Yarn right now.

20. Any books, yarns, needles or patterns out there you are dying to get your hands on? What knitting magazine subscriptions do you have?

For books you can check my Amazon wishlist. I’m starting to realize I need some good stitch pattern anthologies (or whatever they are called).
I’m a big fan of handpainted yarn. I’m hoping to get into the Socks That Rock club this time around. I want to try Koigu, Scout’s swag (I gave my skein away), Teyani’s Sock Hop Yarn and Sundara‘s yarn. I’d love to get some more of Wendy‘s yarn (especially Katydid). She was my sp8; what a treat!

For needles, I love my Addis. And I’m building up my sock needle collection. I hear Holz & Stein needles (which you can’t get in the States anymore) are to die for. I’d love to try them someday.

I don’t currently have a magazine subscription right now. I’d love to get Interweave Knits.
What I love about all the yarns I mentioned is the vibrancy of color and the softness. That being said; I’d be happy to try any yarn. I’m just partial to yarns that aren’t fuzzy.

21. Are there any new techniques you’d like to learn?

I want to learn lace and cabling.

22. Are you a sock knitter? What are your foot measurements?

I’m trying to be! I wear a size 6.5 – 7 U.S. shoe.

23. When is your birthday? (mm/dd)

It’s coming up! November 14th.

3 Responses to “Secret Pal 9 Questionnaire”

  1. Janus Says:

    Took me a while to guess on what a UFO was…I am really out of my league trying to learn knittin’ Lingo.

    Happy Pending Birthday.

  2. Kimberly Says:

    Coolness, another November-born mate! I am very excited on this rendition of SP. My SP8 Spoiler was FABULOUS and I hope to spoil my Spoilee as last time!
    =:8

  3. secret pal Says:

    this is going to be fun!

Leave a Reply

