Wanna bet?

October 1, 2006

This UFO has been excavated from the trunk of antiquities in my storage space. It is the front of a vest I was knitting for myself four-score and seven years ago.

Okay, not quite that long, but longer ago than some of you have been on this earth; just sayin’. When I think of how many things I could have knit had I not been on a fiber hiatus for almost twenty years . . .

On the positive side though, I have learned to be a little more selective in my choice of fibers. We shall not speak of the many skeins of acrylic I unearthed.

Any of you willing to humble yourselves enough to admit you have a UFO old enough to be a college grad? I am, and I have a skein of yarn to throw into the pot because I’m so sure mine’s the oldest.

I started knitting this vest (if my carbon dating is correct) in 1983. At least it’s not completely hideous–classic in an argyley sort of way. And believe me, carbon is the only dating I’m doing these days (sadly).

So guys and dolls, care to dig into the UFO trunk and win yourself a skein of yarn? No fair using one you got at an estate sale or your grandmother gave you from her stash. It’s got to be from your own valise of shame. I ‘fessed up, now it’s your turn.

Post your answers in the comments section.  I’ll keep the contest open for one week, until October 8th at 10 p.m. Central.   I’m going to dig in my (non-acrylic) stash for a prize.

And check me out! I posted a picture from Flickr!! Woo hoo!

25 Responses to “Wanna bet?”

  1. Kathy Says:

    Congrats on posting a picture! Let me know if you need help with Flickr. I’ve been with them for a while now.

    I only picked up knitting again 2 years ago, so don’t have any long lingering UFO’s. I tend to frog pretty freely, so I don’t accumulate too many UFO’s.

  2. Chris Says:

    Only about 4 years, since I’ve only been knitting for 6…

  3. Nicole Says:

    he he, I was 3 years old when you started knitting your UFO.

  4. cecily Says:

    heh. hehhehehehe…you started knitting your UFO the year i was born!

    my oldest one is only a little over a year old, a belated wedding present. but etiquette says you have a year! and their anniversary will be november 12th, so i better get cracking! i’m pretty close to finishing, though.

  5. Anne Says:

    Nope, can’t compete – 2 years ago I frogged my 17 year-old UFO (a baggy sweater in seed stitch – what _was_ I thinking! – It stopped me knitting for that whole 17 years – frogging it and then allowing myself to depart from project monogamy was a tremendous release!)

  6. Kimberly Says:

    I’ve unearthed a gorgeous Norwegian sweater I had started back in college about 13 years ago. I’ve since taken the needles out but I’m not going to rip it, I don’t know why but I just can’t seem to do it.

  7. Kendra Says:

    oooooh, I should have waited. Two years ago I was digging through my parents house and I came accross a sweater that I started my Sophmore year of high school (I graduated in ’84). It wasn’t going to live in that incarnation, obviously. So I ripped and made a shawl out of it. The yarn was a black acrylic with a metalic irredecent thread wound around it. I bought the yarn at Lee Wards. Hmmmm, I think I have a pic of the reincarnation– maybe I’ll post it today. Yeah, I think I will.


  8. […] Lorinda is having a ‘fess up to your oldest UFO contest. Leave your comment before 10 pm Central, October 8. […]

  9. scout Says:

    Does it count if it’s not mine? I inherited a few UFO’s of my mom’s after she died…..so they are about 15 years old!

  10. moraie Says:

    I’m in the middle of trying to finish off my oldest UFO. It’s 14 years old (circa prom 1992). I ran out of yarn. I tried to felt it – but it’s still not “finished” because it needs to be resewn, refelted and possibly recut, before being turned into a bag.
    Does this count?
    After that there’s a package of yarn that I’ve frogged that is about 6 years old and a baby dress that is 4 years old.

  11. mrspao Says:

    I’ve got a sweater I started about 6 years ago which I’m planning to frog and give the yarn away.

  12. Kat Says:

    I frogged several UFOs from the 80s this past spring, so my oldest UFO is now a purple alpaca turtleneck sweater that was started in 1993. All I have to do is redo the too-tight neck bind off, pick up stitches and knit the t-neck and it’ll be done. It’s been sitting like that for 4 years.

  13. Nicole Says:

    You started your UFO about three years before I was born, so it’s physically impossible for me to have a UFO old enough to be a college grad. I don’t think I have any knitting projects older than a few months. If you count those awful latch hook things, though, I think I have one that’s over twelve years. And it still has only two rows done.

  14. Jeanne Says:

    Funny, I just brought all my UFOs out of the closet last week. My oldest one is 7 years old…I’ve been knitting for 8, so…

  15. Carrie K Says:

    Well, I see I’m not going to win, but it is making me feel a whole lot better about my eight year old unfinished Norwegian socks.


  16. Ooooh fun fun contest. I have nothing old enough to beat you. My oldest UFO is about 1-1/2 years, an unfinished afghan. :/

  17. Diane Says:

    I have a poncho I started in 1972. It’s acrylic (that terrible 70’s acrylic that you’d get for 29 cents a skein), it’s a horrible design (zipper front with a turtle neck and a pom pom used as a zipper pull), and just in case you are thinking, “Gee what’s so bad about that” let me add that it’s hot pink.

    I don’t know why I still have it since I’ll never finish it or frog and use the yarn for something else but it’s moved with me 5 times and is in my closet.

  18. Nicole Says:

    Diane, I think it’s there to remind you of how much your taste has improved over the years.

  19. lorinda Says:

    Well said, Nicole!

    In 1972, my poncho was a fabby purple with multicolored fringe my mom made for me that I wore ALL the time and would put on my head to pretend I had long hair.

  20. Kendra Says:

    Oh, my goodness.

    I remember doing that with my ponchos too. And I expected everyone else to aknowledge my beatiful, long hair.

  21. trek Says:

    I had a sweater that I started in about 1982 – I unearthed it from my mother’s basement and frogged it last summer. Then I knit a two sweaters from the yarn (one for Neatnik and one for a 12y/o). Good use of the yarn anyway. I still don’t own a black sweater…. Just sayin’

  22. dolores Says:

    I have a baby blanket I started before my oldest daughter was born. It’s a nice grass green acrylic on size 2’s. All it needs now is the border.

    Oh, yeah, my daughter turned 30 this year!

  23. Lynn Says:

    Ok NOT thrilled to see some not alive during the 80s! However *I* was and have a sweater that I started in 1990. Its a cotton blend that I bought from Ben Franklyns back in the day. I still like the pattern but I’m not the same size I was 26 years ago and I dont have enough yarn to make it bigger. Plus I already finished the back and WON’T rip it out. I’ll probably hold on to it for either dd or me when I’m old and skinny. I’ll have to pull it out of the closet and post it on my blog……

  24. Musing Says:

    Hi! Fun contest! We posted about it on our site.

    If you ever have another contest you want us to announce, just let us know. 🙂

  25. rdl Says:

    wow you got me beat my a decade. my UFO is from ’93 when I was pregnant with my son – a baby afghan. Tho I do have a ball of really expensive silk yarn from ’84 that I bought to make ? a halter top, started, realized I didn’t have enough and ripped out.
    This was fun! Thanks.

Leave a Reply

