Sea Silk, Baby!

June 3, 2006

Picture intense posting . . .

Remember a few posts ago when I told you I had the best Secret Pals? Well, I was right. My One Skein Secret Pal sent me a package, and it arrived today. I expected to open it and find one skein of yarn and that was it.

But no! My OSSP sent me a bona fide care package! Here are the spoils spread out on the sweet piece of fabric ABC and I scored at Ikea for 99 cents (we dream of pillow covers and little girl halter tops).

THANK YOU OSSP! It’s like you know me better than I know myself. Here are all the details of my most excellent package:

Eucalan wash, which I’ve been wanting to buy and just didn’t get around to.
Cute lip gloss which I’ll have to hide from ABC.
Flirty little post-it notes.

Gorgeous earrings! So beautiful that my cat stole them when I walked away from the “photo shoot” to take cookies out of the oven. I can’t wait to wear them!

Dainty pewter buttons in the shape of flowers. OSSP said she envisions them on a felted bag. Fab idea!

Yummy shower gel and lotion in vanilla and chocolate. I’m going to have to resist licking myself; I’ll smell so good! Love, love, love.

And (drumroll, please) I saved the best for last:

SEA SILK!!!!! In my wildest dreams, I couldn’t imagine getting my most coveted skein from you. And the color is divine. I have been carrying it around “soffying” it (as my baby brother used to say when he felt something soft) all day. I shall probably sleep with it. I’m in love–with my OSSP and my Sea Silk.

Check out the stunning colorway.

Stop licking your monitor; you might electrocute yourself. I’m going out on a limb here, because I can’t get onto http://www.Handmaiden.ca’s website but is the colorway Nova Scotia sea or Bay of Fundy or something? I’m holding it by my ear, and I think I can hear the ocean. And for you yarn sniffers, I think I might be able to smell it too. And that’s not a bad thing in Illinois.

I love the serendipity of life too, because I just found David’s blog (also a former Manitoban), and he’s planning to use his Sea Silk to make a Moebius scarf. Two of my favorites converge; it doesn’t get any better than this.

The boys give OSSP’s package the highest approval rating: they sit on it. (Excuse the messier-than-usual mess; it’s laundry day.)

So a million thank yous to my OSSP who has set the bar so high, can any measure up? I think not.

3 Responses to “Sea Silk, Baby!”

  1. knitty.gritty.3 Says:

    hmm… you may have an embarassment of riches very very soon…

  2. Anonymous Says:

    What better compliment could I get than Kitty bum?
    I’m glad you liked you’re package and have fun!
    OSSP

  3. lorinda Says:

    Knitty gritty–I’m used to being embarrassed. Bring it on!

    OSSP; you know whereof you speak. Feline derriere is the highest compliment. Not only near your stuff, but on it! You must have sent good smells from far away. Or they are trying to eat my Sea Silk. I’m going to hide it right now.

Leave a Reply

