I’m Sorry

May 18, 2006

The Yarn Harlot found me out.

Yesterday with nails sharpened, I shredded her Grenyrn to bits. I thought it was witty and charming. She thought it was mean.

So she sent me an email and told me.

And she was nice.

Maybe that’s why she’s the Yarn Harlot, and I’m just me with my 2.3 readers (hi mom). She, in her inimitable Canadian style, reminded me (as my mom used to) “If you don’t have anything nice to say, don’t say anything.”

I don’t think she’s going to let me play with Punk Rock Kitty and KnittyKitty anymore. They’re a bad influence on me.

If she had been catty, I would not have listened.

I know me.

But she disarmed me with her courtesy and her wisdom. So, gulp, red face, stammer . . .

Stephanie, I’m sorry I said mean things about your sweater–and thus mean things about you (because if I rip on your knitting, I rip on you, don’t I?). Will you please forgive me?

And here’s my positive correction: “Although I am not personally attracted to that sweater pattern, I laud your persistence in trying to make it work and hope that you find a happy solution to your dilemma with it. I hate it when things don’t fit.”

Your humbled (and hopefully wiser and definitely awestruck) fan,

lorinda

One Response to “I’m Sorry”

  1. Stephanie Says:

    No apology needed. There’s room for all opinions out here, and for the record, I don’t think it was mean. I thought it was likely out of character . Sh*t happens out here in the internet. Gotta stay loose.

    …and you’re more than welcome to dislike the sweater. We can’t all agree all of the time. Besides, it’s not your birthday present anyway 😉

Leave a Reply

