The Church of Silence

April 30, 2006

My friend used to stay home from church sometimes just to get a little space. I confess, to my shame, that I judged her for not “being in church every time the doors are open.” Now that my kids are older, and there is noise CONSTANTLY at my house, I am wiser.

Today my family is at church, and I stayed home. The hour of silence uninterrupted by arguing, whining, demands and responsibilities is the best form of worship I can imagine. I know it can’t be my church home every week, but today my heart exults in listening to the rain and the quiet.

Shhh. The service has started . . .

Leave a Reply

