Inveterate Bargain Shopper Hits a Homerun!

January 23, 2006


I can’t help myself: I have to buy things on sale. I feel like I’m doing something wrong if I don’t. My dad would be proud, since most of his sentences are concluded with, “It cost 43 cents at Canadian Tire.” Chip off the ol’ block–in a good way. I hit the bargain bin at Joann and found “defective” yarn for $2.50 a skein. There were two skeins, and they were matching and fun in a nubbly sort of way, so I brought them home. I went for the straight stockinette stitch and made a scarf. The defective tag meant several pieces of the yarn were broken off, so I had to knot them back together. In a bulky yarn such as this, it’s hardly noticeable. Thought about giving it away, but I think it’s my favorite creation so far. Very nice to wear at the ice rink while Alana skates. Now I just need to knit a very large scarf to keep my bum warm.

Leave a Reply

